Rooms which are not normally open to clients with interesting beam construction, Diamond chimneys, carriage mounting block and Victorian staircase.
Discover this 16th century house, used as an Inn (Castle Inn), a doctor's residence and surgery. Once owned by a Reading Mayor, Mr John Deane who promoted the bill to lay the paving slabs in Reading - the first one was laid outside this building on 8th August 1785 (we doubt it is still there now!!). The building has been used as a Solicitor's Practice since 1971. Original items retained - diamond chimneys, coach and horse mounting block, shoe carving on the beam timbers. Access to areas not normally open to the public during the working day.
Saturday 9 September: 1000-1630
No booking required
Ground floor only for wheelchairs.
Max 15 people per tour/session. 15 mins tour time Contact for the day: John Saunders
Event organiser is Rowberry Morris.
Disclaimer: All information was correct when the listing was prepared. Any questions about the event should be directed to the event organiser.